Back to Kypros-Net main page
Home News Agrino Search Eureka Projects Mirrors



Today President Bill Clinton received a letter signed by 68 members of Congress expressing, at a crucial time for Cyprus settlement efforts, congressional support for the U.S. push toward a just and viable resolution. This effort was spearheaded by Congressman Robert Menendez (D-NJ), a member of the House International Relations Committee and one of Cyprus' top advocates in the U.S. Congress. Philip Christopher, president of PSEKA said, "we would like to thank those American citizens across the country who have helped their member of Congress understand the importance of solving the Cyprus issue. This letter will add momentum to efforts for a just settlement."

"This letter welcomed the president's appointment of Ambassador Richard Holbrooke as his Special Emissary for Cyprus as a development that `reflects the high priority the administration is attaching to the just and speedy resolution to the Cyprus issue.' These members told the president that this appointment, Cyprus' accession to the European Union, and recent positive developments in the Eastern Mediterranean offer `a window of opportunity,' and `give all of us hope that we will, at long last, witness real progress toward a final resolution of this tragic problem.'

"The letter emphasized that a Cyprus solution must be based on `international law, the provisions of relevant United Nations Security Council resolutions, our democratic principles and a respect for human rights...a solution that does not encompass those principles would not lead to a lasting peace.' It concluded by saying that, `we are ready to assist your efforts and the efforts of the emissary, in the best possible way and look forward to cooperating with you closely during the process.'

Attached is a list of those 68 members of Congress who signed this letter to the president. Greek-Americans across the country whose member of Congress appears on this list are urged to call or write to thank them for their support for Cyprus.

For more information, please contact Mike Manatos at (202) 393-7790.

Sixty-Eight Members of Congress Who Signed July 11, 1997 Letter to the President Regarding Cyprus

Gary Ackerman (D-NY)
Rob Andrews (D-NJ)
Herbert Bateman (R-VA)
Howard Berman (D-CA)
Michael Bilirakis (R-FL)
Rod Blagojevich (D-IL)
Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
David Bonior (D-MI)
Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
Walter Capps (D-CA)
Bob Clement (D-TN)
Peter Deutsch (D-FL)
Lincoln Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
Mike Doyle (D-PA)
Eliot Engel (D-NY)
Bob Filner (D-CA)
Michael Forbes (R-NY)
Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)
Elizabeth Furse (D-OR)
Sam Gejdenson (D-CT)
George Gekas (R-PA)
Gene Green (D-TX)
Luis Guttierez (D-IL)
Jane Harman (D-CA)
Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
Maurice Hinchey (D-NY)
Reuben Hinojosa (D-TX)
Tim Holden (D-PA)
Darlene Hooley (D-OR)
Steve Horn (R-CA)
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Sue Kelly (R-NY)
Joe Kennedy (D-MA)
Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)
Ron Klink (D-PA)
Dennis Kucinich (D-OH)
Tom Lantos (D-CA)
Sander Levin (D-MI)
John Lewis (D-GA)
William Lipinski (D-IL)
Nita Lowey (D-NY)
Carolyn Maloney (D-NY)
Tom Manton (D-NY)
Robert Matsui (D-CA)
Jim McDermott (D-WA)
Michael McNulty (D-NY)
Marty Meehan (D-MA)
Carrie Meek (D-FL)
Robert Menendez (D-NJ)
Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
Michael Pappas (R-NJ)
Ed Pastor (D-AZ)
William Pascrell (D-NJ)
Donald Payne (D-NJ)
Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)
Owen Pickett (D-VA)
John Porter (R-IL)
Glenn Poshard (D-IL)
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)
Steven Rothman (D-NJ)
Edward Royce (R-CA)
Charles Schumer (D-NY)
Brad Sherman (D-CA)
John Tierney (D-MA)
Esteban Torres (D-CA)
Peter Visclosky (D-IN)
Curt Weldon (R-PA)
Albert Wynn (D-MD)

Please Visit: Find Cyprus! Custom Google Search for Cyprus

[Home] [Current News] [Kypros-Net] [Projects] [Government of Cyprus] [Mirrors]
[Arachne] [Eureka] [Message Boards] [Chatroom] [Postcards] [Site-map] [What's New] [Feedback]
[Free Webpages] [Auctions] [Learn Greek] [Real Video] [Guestbook] [Awards] [Bookmark] [Search] [Statistics]